Breakfast / Food!

Wild Blueberry and Lemon Rind Whole Wheat Pancakes

In addition to exploring new cosmetic products, I’ve recently embarked on cooking endeavors. Not that I haven’t cooked before, I’m just now making a concerted effort to catalog what I do and how much I add as I have always been a fly- by- the- seat- of- my- pants kinda person in the kitchen. Today with the threat of Hurricane Irene which ended up being kinda a bust in these Beantown parts, I took it as a cue to cook up some fabulous pancakes. You can whip em up too- super easy, super yummy.

Wild Blueberry and Lemon Rind Whole Wheat Pancakes

Enough for 2 hungry people

  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Pancake Mix (I got mine from Whole Foods)
  • 2/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon oil (I used canola)
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Freshly grated lemon zest (about 1 tablespoon, not packed)
  • Fresh wild blueberries
Gently mix the batter sans berries until all flour is moistened and clumps are not visible. Pour into pre-heated pan. Sprinkle as many blueberries as you desire. Depending on the diameter of your cake in the pan, cooking times will vary. The biggest indicator of the flippage point nearing is when you see these beautiful little bubbles emerging through the batter:

Flip and cook until both sides look cooked through. Be sure your pan isn’t too hot when starting out- this will just burn your pancakes. Slowly crank up the heat to a mid-range to cook your pancakes pretty quickly and evenly.

Top with whatever ya want- just some syrup (I highly recommend some good quality Vermont sappiness), lil butter, whipped cream, strawberries, more bluerries, bananas… whatever your little heart desires. These do run on the sweet side, though, so be forewarned! Any leftovers can be wrapped up in foil and reheated in the microwave.

Happy pancaking!

Update: I just ate the reheated leftovers which did not have blueberries in the batter because I, um, forgot to throw them in. The pancakes were not as sweet and tasted DELICIOUS. I had frozen organic strawberries that I defrosted in the fridge- I plopped some strawberries and goo on top of the pancakes with a little syrup and nuked for 1 minute. Perfection! So, in summation, use the batter sans blueberries for a less sweet breakfast treat.

2 thoughts on “Wild Blueberry and Lemon Rind Whole Wheat Pancakes

Leave a Reply

